In Loving Memory

Days go by in the continual boring routine of sleeping, waking, rushing to office, eating, sleeping, and so on and so on … days merge into weeks, weekends rush by and soon months just pass away without any perceptible difference.

But not today. Today there is an sms on my phone: “We lost her last week”

Today a flood of memories engulf me – of my first time away from home, in a new environment and new people, my first time away from a sheltered life – graduation college. My anchor in this whole new chaotic world – my new roommate. She was the elder of two sisters, her father worked overseas and HER anchor in this new chaotic world, her friend and confidante – her mother.

Her mother – this hardworking lady, who though brought up in a conventional traditional home wished more for her daughters; this lady who would fight with criticising family members to give her daughters the freedom and choices that she never had for herself; this lady who handled my tomboyish ways with indulgent reproach; this lady who let me into her home and played gracious host to a number of pj parties for our girls’ gang; this lady who meant the world to her daughters.

“We lost her last week.” said the sms.

The labours of daily living would soon force my mind to the mundane routine of everyday life, but not today.

Today I want to relive those precious gossip sessions and discussions that she presided over; Today I want to bow down to the staunch resolve she always had for doing right by her daughters; Today i want to rail against that dreaded word “Cancer” that broke her resolve.

Today, I just want to spend a few moments in isolation, in loving memory.

 

Would love to hear your views on my post ....!

